Xaphoon Jones Triple J Mix

Xaphoon Jones’ recent mix for Australian radio station Triple J’s program Mix Up will go down in my book as one of the best mixes, at least of this past year. Over the past 5 years at minimum, the strongly Philly-tied producer has been popularly recognized as half of hip-hop duo Chiddy Bang, who, as reported by a post on the pair’s Facebook page last month, have indeterminately parted ways to focus on individual music efforts. Sure, Chiddy were a fun rap act over the course of their output together, but hearing Noah Breakfast as a singular producer headed down a purely electronic music-making path has been something I’ve been looking forward to enjoying for quite some time. I find his Triple J mix great in its content/selection, as any recorded mix can only be judged by: Sliink, Duke Dumont, Jeremih, Kingdom and that one track from JWLS that I don’t think is out yet are all somehow sewn cohesively together. His selections mirror my personal taste to a good degree, but more importantly, the 60 minutes propose a style that I definitely wouldn’t mind seeing Xaphoon purport to as a producer with no limits as a hip-hop act.




    Comment